Doctoral Students from the Chair of Environmental Protection and Landscape Management

In Estonian

Jekaterina Balicka
jekaterina.balicka@emu.ee

CV in ETIS

Supervisors: Kalev Sepp, PhD; Simon Bell, PhD

Title: Potential for temporary use of abandoned urban space in Baltic cities

 

Edgars Bojārs 
ebojars@gmail.com

 

Supervisor: Valdo Kuusemets, PhD

Title: Impact of habitat abiotic and landscape factors on the distribution and abundance of brown bear

 

Henri Järv
henri.jarv@emu.ee

CV in ETIS

Supervisor: Kalev Sepp, PhD

Title: The impact of protected areas on the  regional socio-economic development

 

Oleksandr Karasov
oleksandr.karasov@student.emu.ee

 

Supervisors: Mart Külvik, PhD;  Ihor Chervanyov, PhD

Title: Intangible natural resources of protected areas, their assessment and rational use

 

Siiri Külm
siiri.kylm@emu.ee

CV in ETIS

Supervisors: Mari Nõmmela, PhD; Kalev Sepp, PhD

Title: Impacts of cemetery culture changes to Estonian cemetery landscapes

 

Piret Lang
piret.lang@emu.ee

CV in ETIS

Supervisor: Valdo Kuusemets, PhD

Title: Biodiversity and ecolocical demands of plants and insects in seminatural communities
 

Helen Liiva
helen.liiva@emu.ee

CV in ETIS

Supervisors: Ülle Püttsepp, PhD; Kaja Orupõld, PhD

Title: Studies on habitat quality in relation to root litter decomposition; the effect of heavy metals
 

Marek Maasikmets
marek.maasikmets@emu.ee

CV in ETIS

Supervisors: Veljo Kimmel, PhD; Erik Teinemaa, PhD

Title: Evaluation of emission rates of diffuse sources 

 

Kaie Metsaots
kaie.metsaots@emu.ee

CV in ETIS

Supervisor: Kalev Sepp, PhD

Title: Development of oil-shale region on basis of the concept of industrial heritage, tourism
and recreational centre

 

Ivar Ojaste
ivar.ojaste@gmail.com

CV in ETIS

Supervisors: Aivar Leito, PhD; Kalev Ratiste,PhD

Title: Nesting and migration strategies of Eurasian Crane. Possibilities to optimize conservation activities

 

Diana Pungar
diana.pungar@emu.ee

CV ETIS

Supervisors: Robert G.H. Bunce, PhD, Kalev Sepp, PhD

Title: Border species vulnerability to disturbances


Janar Raet
janar.raet@emu.ee

CV in ETIS

Supervisors: Valdo Kuusemets, PhD; Kalev Sepp, PhD

Title: Impacts of land use changes to landscape values

 

Pille Tomson
pille.tomson@emu.ee

CV in ETIS

Supervisor: Robert G.H. Bunce, PhD

Title: The impacts of historical land use on formation of Estonian traditional
landscapes

 

Miguel Villoslada Peciña
miguel.pecina@emu.ee

CV in  ETIS

Supervisors: Kalev Sepp, PhD; R.G.H. Bunce, PhD

Title: Comparison of the climate change impact on the provision of ecosystem services in three contrasting regions of the EU using the Environmental Stratification

 


Defended Theses:

Simon Bell, PhD 2009
simon.bell@emu.ee

Supervisor: Kalev Sepp, PhD

Landscape Change, landscape perception and the Latvian countryside / (Maastikumuutuste ja maastikutaju analüüs Läti maapiirkondades)
 

 

Margit Heinlaan, Phd 2010
margith@kbfi.ee

Supervisors: Kalev Sepp, PhD; Anne Kahru, PhD; Henri-Charles Dubourguier, PhD

Ecotoxicological evaluation of synthetic nanoparticles and particulate environmental samples / Prioriteetsete saasteainete liikuvus ja biokättesaadavus komplekssetes keskkonnamaatriksites: mehhanismid ja modelleerimine

 

Merike Lillenberg, Phd 2011
merike.lillenberg@emu.ee

Supervisors: Kalev Sepp, PhD; Lembit Nei, PhD

Residues of some pharmaceuticals in sewage sludge in Estonia, their stability in the environment and accumulation into food plants via fertilizing / Mõnede ravimijääkide sisaldus Eesti reoveesettes, nende stabiilsus keskkonnas ja akumuleerumine kompostväetisest toidutaimedesse

 

Villem Aruoja, PhD 2011
villem.aruoja@kbfi.ee

Supervisors: Kalev Sepp, PhD; Anne Kahru, PhD; Henri-Charles Dubourguier, PhD

Algae Pseudokircheriella subcapitata in environmental hazard evaluation of chemicals and synthetic nanoparticles  / Vetikad Pseudokirchneriella subcapitata kemikaalide ja sünteetiliste nanoosakeste keskkonnaohtlikkuse hindamisel

 

Isabel Margarita Diaz Forero, PhD 2011
isadiazf@gmail.com

Supervisors: Valdo Kuusemets, PhD; Marika Mänd, PhD

Influence of abiotic and biotic factors at patch and landscape scale on bumblebees (Bombus spp.) in semi-natural meadows / Abiootiliste ja biootiliste faktorite mõju kimalaste populatsioonidele poollooduslikel kooslustel: maastikuline analüüs

 

Mario Luna Del Risco, PhD 2011
env.marioluna@gmail.com

Supervisors: Kaja Orupõld, PhD; Marta Carballa Arcos, PhD; Henri-Charles Dubourguier, PhD

Biochemical methane potential of Estonian substrates and evaluation of some inhibitors of anaerobic digestion / Eesti substraatide biokeemilise metaanitootlikkuse potentsiaali määramine ja anaeroobse kääritamise mõnede inhibiitorite uurimine.

 

Ave Liivamägi, PhD 2013
ave.liivamagi@emu.ee

Supervisor: Valdo Kuusemets, PhD

Variation in the habitat requirements of pollinating insects in semi-natural meadows / Tolmeldajate elupaiganõudluste mitmekesisus poollooduslikes kooslustes

 

Are Kaasik, PhD 2014
are.kaasik@emu.ee

Supervisor: Kalev Sepp, PhD

The detection of land use change and its interactions with biota in Estonian rural landscapes / Maakasutusmuutuste mõju maapiirkondade maastikulisele ja bioloogilisele mitmekesisusele


 

Ants Tammepuu, PhD 2014
ants.tammepuu@emu.ee

Supervisor: Kalev Sepp, PhD

Emergency risk assessment in Estonia / Hädaolukorra riskianalüüs Eestis



 

Monika Suškevičs, PhD 2014
smonika@emu.ee

Supervisors: Mart Külvik, PhD; Aivar Leito, PhD

Knowledge, learning and legitimacy in multi-level participatory ecological network governance / Kaasamisprotsesside tõhusus ja tulemuslikkus ökoloogilise võrgustiku planeerimisel ning rakendamisel mitmetasandilises valitsemismudelis

 

Kadri Kask, PhD 2015
kadri.kask@emu.ee

Juhendaja: Valdo Kuusemets, PhD

Distribution and habitat preferences of Clouded Apollo butterfly [Parnassius mnemosyne (L.)] in Estonia / Mustlaik-apollo [Parnassius mnemosyne (L.)] levik ja elupaiga eelistused Eestis


 

Priit-Kalev Parts, PhD 2015
priit.kalev.parts@ut.ee

Supervisor: Kalev Sepp, PhD

Sustainable community management in Estonia: reflections on heritage projects on Kihnu Island, in Viljandi County, and in various protected areas / Kestlik kogukonnakorraldus: kultuuripärandiga seostuvate arendustegevuste peegeldusi Kihnu saarelt, Viljandi maakonnast ja Eesti kaitsealadelt

 

Kadri Maikov, Phd 2016
kadri.maikov@emu.ee

Supervisor: Kalev Sepp, PhD

Exploring the salutogenic properties of the landscape: from garden to forest / Maastiku tervendavad omadused: uurimus tervendavatest aedadest metsa vaadeteni

 


Supervisions from outside the Chair:

Lauri Lihtmaa
lauri.lihtmaa@emu.ee
CV in ETIS

Estonian University of Life Sciences, Institute of Forestry and Rural Engineering, Chair of Geomatics

Supervisor: Kalev Sepp, PhD
Title: Ehitatud keskkonna jätkusuutlikkuse hindamine

 

Kaarel Sahk
kaarel.sahk@emu.ee
CV in ETIS

Estonian University of Life Sciences, Institute of Forestry and Rural Engineering, Chair of Rural Building and Water Management
Supervisors: Kalev Sepp, PhD; Peeter Torop, PhD
Title: Factors impacting changes in property values

 

Elis Vollmer
elis.vollmer@emu.ee
CV in ETIS

Estonian University of Life Sciences, Institute of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Chair of Crop Science and Plant Biology
Supervisors: Merrit Noormets, PhD; Kalev Sepp, PhD
Title: Cultivating energy crops: environmental and landscape aspects

 

Vello Palm
vello.palm@ut.ee
CV in ETIS

University of Tartu, Faculty of Science and Technology, Institute of Ecology and Earth Sciences, Department of Geography
Supervisors: Aivar Leito, PhD; Mait Sepp, PhD
Title: Migration phenology of birds

 

Hillar Toomiste
hillar.toomiste@gmail.com
CV in ETIS

Estonian University of Life Sciences, Institute of Forestry and Rural Engineering, Chair of Rural Building and Water Management

Supervisors: Valdo Kuusemets, PhD; Mait Kriipsalu, PhD
Title: Extraction of nutrients from organic wastes