Doctoral Students from the Department of Environmental Protection

 

Edgars Bojārs 
ebojars@gmail.com

 

Supervisor: Valdo Kuusemets, PhD

Title: Impact of habitat abiotic and landscape factors on the distribution and abundance of brown bear

 

Piret Lang
piret.lang@emu.ee

CV in ETIS

Supervisor: Valdo Kuusemets, PhD

Title: Biodiversity and ecolocical demands of plants and insects in seminatural communities
 

Helen Liiva
helen.liiva@emu.ee

CV in ETIS

Supervisors: Ülle Püttsepp, PhD; Kaja Orupõld, PhD

Title: Studies on habitat quality in relation to root litter decomposition; the effect of heavy metals
 

Marek Maasikmets
marek.maasikmets@emu.ee

CV in ETIS

Supervisors: Veljo Kimmel, PhD; Erik Teinemaa, PhD

Title: Evaluation of emission rates of diffuse sources

 

Diana Pungar
diana.pungar@emu.ee

CV ETIS

Supervisors: Robert G.H. Bunce, PhD, Kalev Sepp, PhD

Title: Border species vulnerability to disturbances

 

Janar Raet
janar.raet@emu.ee

CV in ETIS

Supervisors: Valdo Kuusemets, PhD; Kalev Sepp, PhD

Title: Impacts of land use changes to landscape values

 

Pille Tomson
pille.tomson@emu.ee

CV in ETIS

Supervisor: Robert G.H. Bunce, PhD

Title: The impacts of historical land use on formation of Estonian traditional
landscapes

 

Defended Thesis:

Isabel Margarita Diaz Forero, PhD 2011
isadiazf@gmail.com

Supervisors: Valdo Kuusemets, PhD; Marika Mänd, PhD

Influence of abiotic and biotic factors at patch and landscape scale on bumblebees (Bombus spp.) in semi-natural meadows / Abiootiliste ja biootiliste faktorite mõju kimalaste populatsioonidele poollooduslikel kooslustel: maastikuline analüüs

 

Mario Luna Del Risco, PhD 2011
env.marioluna@gmail.com

Supervisors: Kaja Orupõld, PhD; Marta Carballa Arcos, PhD; Henri-Charles Dubourguier, PhD

Biochemical methane potential of Estonian substrates and evaluation of some inhibitors of anaerobic digestion / Eesti substraatide biokeemilise metaanitootlikkuse potentsiaali määramine ja anaeroobse kääritamise mõnede inhibiitorite uurimine.

 

Ave Liivamägi, PhD 2013
ave.liivamagi@emu.ee

Supervisor: Valdo Kuusemets, PhD

Variation in the habitat requirements of pollinating insects in semi-natural meadows / Tolmeldajate elupaiganõudluste mitmekesisus poollooduslikes kooslustes

 

Kadri Kask, PhD 2015
kadri.kask@emu.ee

Juhendaja: Valdo Kuusemets, PhD

Distribution and habitat preferences of Clouded Apollo butterfly [Parnassius mnemosyne (L.)] in Estonia / Mustlaik-apollo [Parnassius mnemosyne (L.)] levik ja elupaiga eelistused Eestis

 

Supervisions from outside the department:

Hillar Toomiste
hillar.toomiste@gmail.com
CV in ETIS

Estonian University of Life Sciences, Institute of Forestry and Rural Engineering, Department of Rural Building

Supervisors: Valdo Kuusemets, PhD; Mait Kriipsalu, PhD
Title: Extraction of nutrients from organic wastes